Q&A with Ethan Ren: graduate trader programme

Ethan Ren, a maths graduate from St Catharine’s College, describes his experience securing a place on Maven’s Graduate Trader Programme

I’m Ethan, I’m from Cardiff and I did undergraduate maths at Catz. Why maths? In sixth form I was really into maths, so it made sense to keep doing it at uni. I got along well with the mathmos in my college, and in fact I’m sharing a flat with one of them now! I spent much of my time at university fencing. I’d fenced during high school and through some good fortune CUFC had a great coach. By third year, I was competing internationally for the British team. Some of my fondest memories of Cambridge include CUFC’s trip to China, Magdalene May Ball and going punting after exams.  I graduated in 2018 and started work as a graduate trader at Maven the following September. 

I had no experience in finance when I accepted the job offer; I hadn’t even heard of the indices I now trade options on

What kind of careers experience did you gain while at Cambridge? And in the year following your graduation?

I’d never had any ‘proper’ work experience before I started the grad scheme. Instead of internships I spent my breaks fencing, which was something interviewers picked up on and asked about. In third year, I attended the Maven networking dinner organised by the Hawks’ Club and really liked the atmosphere. After speaking with graduates who had joined Maven in previous years, I thought that trading would suit me. From there, I sent off an application and I’ve been working at Maven for just over a year.

Tell us about your experience at Maven – what are your tips for getting into this industry?

Maven has a grad scheme that teaches you everything you need to trade. I had no experience in finance when I accepted the job offer; I hadn’t even heard of the indices I now trade options on. There were seven of us in our grad intake. We started out learning Option Theory and Python in a classroom, building our own trading tools and practising mock trading with senior traders. The learning process was fast, with daily shadowing sessions that felt a lot like supervisions. Within three months we were trading our own junior books, responsible for managing our own risk, positions and PnL. We then did rotations around desks. Each product has its own unique challenges, and each desk has different tools and methods for dealing with them. I rotated around Treasuries and Bund, trading junior books on both products. It was a great way to experience trading completely different products. Even as a junior you can immediately make an impact by writing and improving trading scripts.

To get into trading I would recommend applying early and brushing up on your mental maths

I currently sit on the Index desk with the two grads who were at the Hawks’ networking dinner two years ago. On a typical day, I get in for around 7.30am, trade while markets are open between 8am and 4.50pm, then do some project work before heading to the gym at around 6.30pm. The Index desk is expanding quickly to include new products and strategies, so you get a diverse range of projects to work on. I’m currently trading two of the smaller books on my own. It’s great having autonomy over my own trading, although it can come with additional pressure. To get into trading I would recommend applying early and brushing up on your mental maths. It’ll come across well in interviews if you’re fast and accurate. 

What are some of the key things you’ve learned so far in your role?

1. No-one asks you for proofs in the real world.

2. In terms of skills, I’ve learnt Python and better time-management.

3. It might sound obvious – if you have an early start, you need to get into the routine of going to bed early!

Describe your career aspirations for the coming few years – any especial goals?

No specific career goals, except to keep learning and make money. I’d also like to get back into fencing and maybe own a dog one day.

One tip for students who are unsure what they want to do with their career?

Do something you think you’ll enjoy. Your career will probably span decades. It’s hard to be certain of whether a career is for you without actually doing it first. I think doing something you find fulfilling is probably a good bet. You’ll always have time to change your mind. 

You can explore Maven’s graduate opportunities on their website, and learn more about trading on ours. Not sure what you want to do when you graduate? Use our I’m looking for ideas pages to help you make some progress

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar