Careers In Data: Quantitative Degrees Can Lead to Meaningful Careers in Healthcare

Dara healthcare blog

Andrei, a Statistician at Costello Medical, explores his impactful and meaningful career in the healthcare sector, and how his degree in Mathematics led him here

I studied at St Chad’s College at Durham University graduating with a first class integrated Master’s degree in Mathematics. I joined Costello Medical in 2021. 

I studied a range of modules, eventually focusing on Pure Mathematics and Statistics. The Statistics modules I took covered various concepts and methods including general linear modelling, principal component analysis and likelihood methods. In my final year project, I investigated missing data and non-random selection of data, using this to propose a sample selection model, coded in R, with regularization and flexible distribution assumptions to estimate model parameters.  

Not only do our projects see us working with a range of clients across a range of disease areas, they also feed into a number of other service offerings at Costello Medical, making our efforts truly collaborative.

The Role of a Statistician  

I work with a range of clients in the healthcare sector, including pharmaceutical companies, medical device firms, public sector organisations and charities. I am responsible for devising statistical analysis plans, performing analyses and communicating the methods and results to clients in a way that makes our work accessible to those without a technical background.  

My roles varies depending on the projects I am involved with. Some projects primarily focus on programming, whilst others may not involve any programming at all, instead focusing on investigations or applications of statistical methods. 

For example, I recently worked on a project to investigate outcomes and identify unmet needs for patients with acute myeloid leukaemia (AML), which involved conducting meta-analyses to synthesise available evidence. This involved a careful investigation of the relevant literature on outcomes for patients with AML, quantitative analysis of patient characteristics across studies, conducting the meta-analyses and presenting and discussing results.   

The statistical analyses we perform include basic analysis of healthcare data, regression analysis, survival analysis and Bayesian network meta-analysis. Within these projects, we work with a range of patient-level clinical trial data, observational study data, real-world data and published aggregate data.  

Not only do our projects see us working with a range of clients across a range of disease areas, they also feed into a number of other service offerings at Costello Medical, making our efforts truly collaborative. You can find examples of our collaborative projects here: https://www.costellomedical.com/what-we-do/evidence-development/statistics/  

The most rewarding part of my role is being able to see the direct and tangible impact of my work. The Statistics team at Costello Medical has generated evidence which has contributed to the approval of new treatments in the UK and globally, and to publications which inform on patient outcomes and the efficacy of new and existing treatments. 

From Theoretical Mathematics to Medical Statistics 

I had limited exposure to Medical Statistics in my degree and did not assume that my course would immediately lend itself to a career in the healthcare sector. It was clear from the application process and upon starting my role at Costello Medical that my studies were highly applicable to the role.  

I am using a lot of what I learnt in my Statistics modules, for example conducting regression analysis and using my technical skills in R. The role also required learning several new skills, including statistical methods used for evidence synthesis and the analysis of patient-level data, as well as collaborating across the business to contribute to the various services Costello Medical offers to clients. 

Alongside problem solving skills, my projects also require in-depth investigation beyond technical skills. I love taking the time to investigate a disease area as well as working closely with clients to understand the best way to conduct analyses and/or present results to suit their needs.  

Making meaningful contributions to real world situations 

Costello Medical aims to improve patient outcomes by making meaningful contributions to the healthcare sector – this is something that I am passionate about. My role allows me to use my technical skills within real-life situations. Much of my degree was very theoretical and I was keen to take these key concepts and technical skills and apply them to situations where I could truly help people. Since the COVID-19 pandemic, everyone has had a strong focus on healthcare and this helped me to realise just how valuable my skills can be. 

The most rewarding part of my role is being able to see the direct and tangible impact of my work. The Statistics team at Costello Medical has generated evidence which has contributed to the approval of new treatments in the UK and globally, and to publications which inform on patient outcomes and the efficacy of new and existing treatments.     

More examples of our publications and articles can be found here: https://www.costellomedical.com/research/articles-publications/  

Don’t limit yourself by assuming that certain career paths are out of reach for you. You will be surprised how transferable a degree can be, even a specific course, as well as the number of valuable soft skills you will have developed.

Looking Ahead 

One of the reasons I applied to join Costello Medical was the investment they place in their employees. They offer a range of entry-level jobs that are perfect for graduates who are taking on their first role. They provide everyone with a wealth of training and growth opportunities so you can build a long-term career at the company. 

I have been able to take advantage of training opportunities, from internal induction training to an external short course with the University of Bristol, which have allowed to me to build my technical skills. This has increased my confidence when approaching projects that may require different statistical approaches. Our internal training has also allowed me to build my skills “on the job” as well as boosting skills like time management, communication and project management.  

Looking ahead, I am hoping to take on more responsibilities within my team, on my projects and when working with clients. This can involve line managing junior colleagues, taking on a leading role within our projects as well as becoming the “go to” person for our clients and working with them as a strategic partner.   

If I wanted to, I can develop my skills in one particular area and become a thought leader for a certain disease area or project type. Alternatively, I could keep my career broad and continue to work across various project types. Both options are welcomed and encouraged, giving me real freedom with my future career development.  

Advice for other students who may be considering using their technical skills for good 

I recommend that students utilise their career support team – they are an invaluable source of support and guidance available while you study and after you graduate. They can help to put you in contact with potential future employers as well as providing advice about writing CVs, interview processes and preparing yourself for the world of work. 

I also suggest investing some time in networking. Speak to professionals on LinkedIn to learn more about their career path and what they enjoy about their role. That inside information can be hugely insightful!  

Don’t limit yourself by assuming that certain career paths are out of reach for you. You will be surprised how transferable a degree can be, even a specific course, as well as the number of valuable soft skills you will have developed. Keep your options open!  

To learn more about the roles available at Costello Medical and see examples of the career progression offered check out their Career Profiles: https://www.costellomedical.com/career-profiles

If you have any questions or would like to learn more about our careers, Costello Medical will be attending the Life Sciences Careers Fair on 6th February. Alternatively contact recruitment@costellomedical.com.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar